Another Holiday Far From Home


ImageWe have served as missionaries in Belize, Central America for eight years so for that reason, we miss most holidays and special occasions with family.Over the past eight years, we’ve spent one Easter, one Christmas, and one Thanksgiving at home in Alabama with our Family. This year (2012) will be our last year to serve in Belize. We will go back to Alabama next March, so we will be home for the holidays next year. Even though Thanksgiving is not celebrated in Belize, I always prepare a traditional meal with my hubby’s favorite, cornbread dressing and giblet gravy. Well, there was no turkey, no cornbread dressing or giblet gravy this year. I came down with a bad flu virus and was too sick to do any cooking. For the first time in many years, probably 30 years, my house did not have the smell of a holiday meal cooking on Thanksgiving Day. 

Living in a tropical climate can take away from the winter holidays — when it’s sunny and 80 degrees outside, it doesn’t feel much like Thanksgiving or Christmas so you try to make sure you do things to keep the feel of the holidays, like cooking traditional meals, putting up the Christmas tree, etc. On this Thanksgiving, I was already feeling pretty miserable because I had been so sick for three days, and now I could not even give my husband the cornbread dressing that he looks forward to all year. I was beginning to get a little depressed so I had to remind myself of all that I have to be thankful for. I walked outside for the first time in three days. Oh what a beautiful day! There was a pleasant breeze blowing, palms swaying, I could hear the ocean waves crashing on the shore. As I looked out over the blue/green Caribbean waters, I felt so blessed to be able to enjoy such a beautiful view. I am thankful. Happy Thanksgiving!

Send a Note back to Meme

