TIME


watchIs it that TIME of year again? Is is TIME already to put 2012 to rest and welcome in a New Year? The final hours and minutes of 2012 are quickly passing, so soon this year will run out of TIME.

For me, 2012 was a milestone in TIME. I turned 50 years old this year. Turning 50 didn’t really feel much different than turning 40, but one thing that I have noticed as the years have passed is that TIME seems to pass much quicker. As a child, TIME moved slowly. The TIME from one Christmas to the next or from one birthday to the next seemed like a lifeTIME.  Actually, any TIME that a child waits in anticipation of anything can make a few hours feel like days. However, as we get older, TIME passes much too fast.

We speak so casually about TIME and often forget what value it holds. Think about all the idioms we use for TIME:

TIME flies

TIME is short

TIME hangs heavy

TIME passes

TIME runs out

We waste TIME

We have spare TIME

We spend TIME

We save TIME

We have good TIMES

We have hard TIMES

We lose TIME

We find TIME

We make TIME

We kill TIME

We live on borrowed TIME

There are 1000’s of idioms for the word, TIME. We describe TIME in so many different ways, as if it truly is something that we can control. The truth is: TIME is limited. TIME is no respecter of persons. It doesn’t matter whether you are young or old, rich or poor; TIME doesn’t stand still for anyone. The only control we have over TIME is how we use it and who we share it with.

When we are young, we think that TIME is endless and that there will always be enough TIME later. When “later” arrives, we realize that TIME is short and TIME doesn’t allow us to go back. As much as we like to believe that we can make up for lost TIME, it really isn’t possible. Once TIME has passed, it’s lost forever. We may still have TIME left and we can use that more wisely but we never get back the TIME we’ve lost.

The photo I chose for this post is a photo of my momma’s watch. My momma went home to be with the Lord in 2008 and after she passed, I asked my siblings if I could have her watch. That was the only thing of hers that I wanted. She didn’t wear a lot of jewelry but she always wore a very simple, inexpensive watch. She took it off only to bath and to sleep. I wanted the watch for two reasons. One: Because it was something that she had with her all the TIME. Two: Because it represented TIME.

That watch represented the TIME that I wanted desperately to have with her. I wanted more TIME. I wanted to go back in TIME before she was diagnosed with cancer and spend more TIME with her. I wanted God to give her more TIME on earth; more TIME to spend with her children; more TIME to enjoy her grandchildren; more TIME to meet all her great-grandchildren.

No matter how much I wanted more TIME, there was no more TIME to spend with my momma. She was only given a certain amount of TIME on this earth, which meant that I was only given a certain amount of TIME to spend with her and that TIME had been spent. The problem was, I didn’t feel that I had spent that TIME wisely and now it was gone. The watch is a reminder to me that I should value the TIME that God has given me. TIME is a limited resource that should be used wisely. TIME is valuable but it becomes priceless only because it is shared with others. My momma’s watch is a reminder for me to spend my TIME on the important things in life and to share TIME with the important people in my life. Most importantly, the watch helps me to remember to give God His TIME. It is God that has granted us an allotted amount of TIME on this earth, so we need to spend TIME with Him.

As 2012 comes to a close and all our TIME for this year has been spent, I hope that you can look back and feel that you did spend your TIME in wise ways with the people you love. If you feel that you wasted this precious gift of TIME, I pray that you will resolve to treasure God’s gift of TIME during the New Year and years to come. Don’t allow the things of this world to steal the treasure of TIME from you.

“Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise,  making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.”  Ephesians 5:15-17

“Show me, Lord, my life’s end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting my life is. You have made my days a mere handbreadth; the span of my years is as nothing before you. Everyone is but a breath, even those who seem secure.”  Psalm 39: 4-5

Send a Note back to Meme

