Blessings in Brokenness



This morning, I listened to the song, Blessings by Laura Story. It’s a favorite of mine and it helps to remind me to look for blessings in every situation, especially in times of trials. Laura wrote this song after her husband was diagnosed with a brain tumor and went through multiple surgeries. I don’t know the entire story behind this song or exactly how God worked in Laura and her husband’s life through this trial, but I do know that God used this situation to inspire her to write this song. The song has ministered to me and I know it has done the same for many others. God is using Laura’s brokenness to bless others.

We hear people often question, why God allows bad things to happen to “good” people. I suppose that this question is really asking why Christians have to experience bad things in life. Christians or “good” people, regardless whether they are Christian, experience trials in life for the same reason that any other human does. We all live in a fallen world. The difference for Christians is that this world is not our home, so we take comfort knowing that the troubles of life are temporary. Some may think that just by believing in Christ, we are exempt from the pains of this life but that was never promised.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  John 16:33

We are not spared the trials that come in life, but because of our belief in Christ, we have hope that sustains us through difficult times and we possess peace that calms the storms. We may not avoid the storms but because of Christ we can peacefully endure them. Perhaps this is the best answer to the question, “why”. If Christians didn’t experience hardships then others would never witness how God provides strength to overcome. It is sometimes difficult to explain in words the peace that Christians have during times of illness or loss, but how we handle the trials can be a testimony of the power of Christ in us.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me”.  2 Cor. 12:9

God’s grace is sufficient to bring us through any storm and He can use even the most hurtful situation for good. Whatever you may be going through at this time may be preparing you to help someone else in the future.

” Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort,  who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.”  2 Cor. 1:3-4

Perhaps you are dealing with physical pain or coping with a disease, such as cancer, or perhaps it’s emotional pain, depression, or loneliness. Maybe you are grieving a loss or dealing with financial troubles. Whatever the cause of your suffering, God’s grace is sufficient.

My prayer is that God sustain you through this time; that He comforts you with a peace that only He can give. I pray also that God help you discover the blessings in your brokenness.

5 thoughts on “Blessings in Brokenness

    • Thank you for your comments and for visiting my blog. Yes, I agree. We many times want to blame God for all that happens in our lives when the truth is, we live in a fallen world filled with broken people.

Send a Note back to Meme

